Soc.Culture.Jewish Newsgroups
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

[SCJ FAQ Logo]
< Q6.17 TOC Q6.19 >

Question 6.18:
Are there parts of a kosher animal that cannot be eaten?


Certain parts are listed as being prohibited, such as the fat of and by the tail, the fat on the kidneys, the sinew that surrounds the sciatic nerve, and the blood that was in veins or arteries at the time of death. [Note that blood found within tissues, and is clearly not within a part of the circulatory system, is kosher.] Kidneys are generally considered non-kosher, as there is no way to get all the non-kosher blood out of them. Brain is kosher, as are sweet-breads (thymus or pancreas).

The thigh is generally not eaten in the US, as it is not cost effective to remove all the branches of the prohibited tendon. We sell that part of the cow to the non-kosher market.

The FAQ is a collection of documents that is an attempt to answer questions that are continually asked on the soc.culture.jewish family of newsgroups. It was written by cooperating laypeople from the various Judaic movements. You should not make any assumption as to accuracy and/or authoritativeness of the answers provided herein. In all cases, it is always best to consult a competent authority--your local rabbi is a good place to start.

[Got Questions?]Hopefully, the FAQ will provide the answer to your questions. If it doesn't, please drop Email to The FAQ maintainer will endeavor to direct your query to an appropriate individual that can answer it. If you would like to be part of the group to which the maintainer directs questions, please drop a note to the FAQ maintainer at

[Prev ?]
[Sect Index]
[Next ?]
[Prev Sect]
[Global Index]
[Next Sect]
  [Reading Lists]  

© (c) 1993-2004 Daniel P. Faigin <>